Dunnellon Chiropractors Drs. Lauri and Cheryl Stanley have been helping patients injured in auto accidents for over two decades. See what this patient has to say in this testimonial below regarding her care!
Also read below to understand the new Florida Laws in regards to treatment of automobile injuries!
Q & A Regarding New Auto Accident Laws
As you may have heard there are new Florida Laws in regards to auto accidents. Currently there is also litigation to challenge the new laws.
Q. Is there a time limit for the patient to seek treatment?
A. In order for a patient to use any of his/her PIP benefits (via M.D., D.O. or D.C.), the patient must first present for treatment within 14 days of the car accident, whether on a referral with an “emergency medical condition” or directly to you after the accident.
$10,000 VERSUS $2,500 IN BENEFITS
In order to have the $10,000 available an Emergency Medical Condition must be present.
EMERGENCY MEDICAL CONDITION
Q. What injuries constitute an “emergency medical diagnosis?”
A. We don’t know. While the new law defines EMC, it does not provide examples of what injuries (ICD-9s) it considers an EMC. The definition of “emergency medical condition” in the new legislation is: A medical condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity, which may include severe pain, such that the absence of immediate medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in any of the following:
(a) Serious jeopardy to patient health.
(b) Serious impairment to bodily functions.
(c) Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.
Call our office if you would like further clarification. Also if you or a loved one is injured in an auto accident don’t delay treatment, call our office today!